If you Love Something, Set it Free…

set it free

“… if it comes back, it’s yours. If it doesn’t, hunt it down and kill it.” – anonymous

Okay, so obviously I like to kill things. πŸ˜‰

But I don’t want to kill your enthusiasm. And I don’t want to write books that just give you a few minutes distraction from your day. I want to write things that make you say, “Fuck my day! I can’t put this book down.” Because you deserve it. You’re amazing.

I could sit here and blow smoke up your ass about how awesome the latest book was – but I’d rather give honesty and get it back in return.Β Out of the 800+ contest entries, less than 200 people bought ONE WAY and only a handful have said a peep about it. There’s a reason. You just have to tell me what it is.

When I say 10 words from you can change my world – I don’t just mean the glowing reviews. I’d rather learn from my mistakes and come back with a kick-ass book that makes you scream, “Hell yes!” Β And my promise to you is that I will take your words and learn from them.

So… If you have time, just a few moments really, lay into me. I have a plenty of thick skin, so feel free to tear it apart. Tell me how I can make your next book even more kick-ass. Comment, facebook me, review, or even email – whatever is most convenient for you.

I would really appreciate it.

23 Comments

Filed under Summer Ellis Books

23 responses to “If you Love Something, Set it Free…

  1. Debbie Countiss

    I really enjoyed your book, “Average Jill”! It was very different from your Cartel series, which I’ve enjoyed also but I wish you would write more books like this one. I stayed up all night to finish it – I couldn’t put it down. Loved, loved, loved it! I can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

    • Awesome Debbie! πŸ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed it. If you wouldn’t mind, please take a second to rate it online. A lot of people don’t realize that the rating system is how bookstores decide who to market. No reviews = no views. Thanks so much!!! I’m definitely going to be writing more like Jill as well.

  2. Joan

    I loved the final book so much I put a 5 star review on Amazon! I knew you couldn’t kill Banker!! Thank you for 4 wonderful books I know I will read over and over. Now I’m off to start Average Jill. Can’t wait to read your next one…..Keep the action and adventure coming!

  3. Jennifer Lynn

    Loved the series, hated the last book. Plot seem to rushed and the book length to short. Hard to believe she gets to live with & share all three men. I would have rather you picked one man and then have your readers say “really she choose him” instead of her getting all 3.

  4. Maaty

    I love your books and your writing style; however, I was disappointed with the last book. I agree with Monica, the ending was just to unbelievable. Everyone had their favorite that they wanted to see win.

    Another point I would like to bring up is that when you describe an action scene, every facet is revealed to the reader making it feel like we are there but you do not have the same intensity when it comes to the more intimate scenes. There is an exception, the first intimate encounter between Alex and Banker in her bathroom. Though not exactly arousing, that scene was so well described that I could place myself there. I would like to see more of that.

    Still, I will buy your books as they come out because they are amazing! Please keep writing! I wish I could do what you do.

    • Maaty: Thank you for the pointers. I think I got scared off by some of the nastier comments from the first book and started watering down my sex scenes. No more! If they don’t like it, they can get a refund. Right?! πŸ˜‰

      As for you doing what I do… I said the exact same thing after reading an indie story. I have no training or education as a writer. I’m learning as I go. Maybe try it out and just see how it goes? I believe in you, honey. πŸ™‚

  5. Kimber

    I originally enjoyed the series, but I was disappointed with the second and last books. I highly doubt Calen would’ve been that compliant in the end. And for Alex to actually be jealous of Calen’s relationship didn’t cut it. She acted like a kid who wanted all the toys for herself but didn’t want to share. I would’ve liked to have seen a three some among Alex, Banker and Calen. Then, maybe, I could’ve bought into his about-face. I wouldn’t tag this book as erotica but rather action because there wasn’t enough sex in it like the first one. Each book seemed to have dwindled down in that department. Sorry… On a positive note, I have own and have read all your books. Keep at it! πŸ™‚

    • Kimber: Thank you for the feedback. I agree that the compliance wasn’t in character. The jealousy, well… people often are selfish. Especially when they are out of their element. I think my goal for next book is going to have the realistic aspect of the characters push more into likeable qualities. We all know selfish, unreasonable people. We just don’t like them. Lol thanks again

  6. Mel Kiwi Kiwi

    I really enjoy reading books that have strong women in them like Alex’s character. Weak and indecisive women I find quite irritating. But while she decided on Cale in end she voiced her opinions on loving multiple people easily which made up for the indecisiveness. I would like to see more (in your future endeavours) strong willed characters both male and specifically female. More sparks fly then. I love your books and couldn’t possibly complain. To me you already have the right formula.

  7. Monica

    I was disappointed on the last book. I hated the ending it was hard to believe in the love triangle at the end. It felt that you couldn’t make a decision who Alex was going to end up with at the end . I believe you wanted to give all your readers all of there favorite guys so you gave us all of them. Unreal,

  8. Tiffany B.

    Summer~
    I loved the entire series! I was so excited with this one… I love “mom” & “dad” together it was beautiful! Cale’s change was a surprise. But I have to say Banker made me hurt and her reaction to her gift was true to her character. Fantastic!

  9. Tatum

    I loved the entire series, but the ending was a little shocking! Thanks for the books and I hope you write more like it!

    • Tatum: Thank you πŸ˜‰ I plan on it, but I want them to be better… When you say shocking, I’m assuming you mean because Cale changed his mind? (Thank you for the feedback)

  10. Nikki

    I haven’t bought it yet, but that’s because I’m having to watch what I spend money on right now. Trust me, I’m buying it as soon as I can.

    • Nikki: Oh no! Well (1) I wasn’t berating anyone, just want some feedback. (2) if I was a millionaire, I’d help you out. Unfortunately, all I can do is offer you a book coupon. :/ email me and I’ll send it to you, hon. I hope things get better for you soon! (Summerellisbooks@gmail.com)